Motion submitted by Jesse Norman MP to establish a special Select Committee on Governance of the House

Following the statement by the Speaker on the Clerkship on Monday, the House of Commons looks set to establish a time-limited Select Committee on the Governance of the House, chaired by Rt Hon Jack Straw MP.

On Tuesday Jesse Norman, MP for Hereford and South Herefordshire, and Bernard Jenkin MP presented a motion to that effect to the Backbench Business Committee, supported by a wide and bipartisan range of senior parliamentarians. This motion has now been accepted, and it will likely be debated on the floor of the House of Commons next week.

In addition to the Chair, the committee will have three Conservative members, two Labour members, one Liberal Democrat and one from the other parties. Elections for the seven backbench members of the committee are expected to take place when the House resumes in October, with the Committee to meet shortly thereafter. The motion stipulates that the committee must report to the House by 12th January. A key focus will be a possible split in the roles of the Clerk and Chief Executive.

Commenting, Jesse Norman MP said:

“I am delighted that on Monday, in response to serious concern expressed across the House, the Speaker announced a pause in the nomination of Ms Carol Mills.

“Now, at his request, the House has set in motion a proper public process to evaluate how it is to be governed, including a possible split in the roles of Clerk and Chief Executive. This is a hugely welcome development.”